When in Rome!!!

We spent two nights in Rome at the start of the holiday and it was good!! We walked and walked and walked!! Over the two days there we have estimated that we walked about 11-12miles. My feet and legs definitely knew about it! But seeing Rome on foot meant I felt a lot less guilty about enjoying a real Italian pistachio icecream, a Quattro formaggio pizza and a mojito while there. It was ridiculous though to see the difference from our previous walking holidays, such as London and New York where we walked and walked and walked to see as much of the city as possible, and at the end of most days I was in floods of tears as I was in such agony with my feet. Born fairly flat footed as it is the extra 4/5 stone really really took its toll. I was also always so tired and exhausted at the end of each day. This holiday I was like a bundle of energy, constantly bounding around and loving my new lease of life.

I thoroughly enjoyed Rome, I made as many wise choices as possible and burnt off as much energy as possible, but I also let my hair down a bit and enjoyed myself, this is surely what it is all about, working so hard for so long to make such a big change, so I can enjoy my life and live it to the full.

As he saying goes….. 'when in Rome….'

 

When in Rome!!!

Image

Leave a Reply

